Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

How do you run-in your new T7?

prwatts

Question

This should get some discussion going...

I resolve to not exceed 4,000rpm or half throttle for the first hundred miles (160 of those other things - killer-meeters?)  I keep below 50mph which is agony.

Speed up, slow down, lotsa gear changes.  Everything smoooth.  a few quick accelerations to load the rings a bit.

Cycle the engine through temperature, so no ride more than 20 miles then let it cool down.  Now in UK Temperatures are in the mid-20'sC

This is the first bike I have with an ambient temperature reading on the dash.  Nice.

After 100 miles, max rpm 5000, max throttle about 65%, same thing, speed up, slow down, gear changes, temperature cycles, till 300 miles.

Then the last so-called 600 miles ride normally, occasional full throttle accelerations but not exceeding 6000 rpm.

Some guys believe that you "ride it like you nicked it" from Day One.  I have been riding for 40 years and this is my 5th New bike and all my bikes have lived long because of my methods.  But you never know... I have heard of "lazy engine syndrome"

Let the talks begin 😄

Peter, Derby, UK, Bloo T7

• Like 2

Bunch of Pussies !

What's The Best Way To Break-In A New Engine ?? 
The Short Answer:
 Run it Hard !

New Engine Break In Procedure For Cars, Motorcycles, Motocross, Snowmobiles and Boats

Modern engines are not like your grandpa Model T!

• Like 2
  • Haha 2

I am the last person willing to disturb in the discussion just at the moment pussies were mentioned  😂😂

but one guy have already checked something in this subject. Brake-in subject, to be precise 😀

And . . . .  no difference . . .  so probably everyone can cultivate his own "religion" without any harm to an engine.

Take a look:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpoglovyy_8

• Like 3

• Premium Member
9 minutes ago, Hooja said: