Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Aftermarket LED turn signals worked... now do not.

wookee

Question

So I thought I had this down, but i'm a big-time noob at electrical anything.  I have the following:

LED Relay

LED Blinkers (2 wires)

I installed the relay.

I then began with the front (3-wires).  I connected the wires, testing the correct wires would make the correct side blink (the colors didn't really match up).  This resulted in an extra black wire (I'm assuming ground).  I moved the black wire back a little and wrapped it up.   At this point I turned on the bike (with old rear blinkers still installed) and the new front blinkers continued to run like a running light and blinked correctly.

I then detached the rear indicators (2-wires).  I tested the wires for each side so that they blinked correctly. Then noticed that the dash indicators are lit up and now after installation of the rear indicators, the fronts do not work.  

Does anyone have an idea?  Is there a fuse perhaps I blew while testing the blinkers?  Thanks for your time

15 answers to this question

2 hours ago, wookee said:

Thanks, yeah the front was working before I installed the rear lights.  After the rears were installed, the fronts do not work. 

I'm thinking maybe I miswired the fronts