Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Alternative to RallZ front?Trailmax

AZJW

• Moderators

I've been running MotoZ tires since 2014, never had any issues,  really like the brand. Still do, but the front Tractionator  RallyZ 90/90-21 has not inspired confidence on pavement since day one.  I've got a little over 600 miles on it, along with the same rear 150/70-18, but the head shake/ wandering just isn't improving.  Don't get me wrong, dirt performance is great, but putting pavement miles down to get to/from trails isn't any fun and isn't getting any better. The front follows pavement/ concrete grooves like a trained bloodhound,  it goes where the groove goes. The last straw was recently passing a 18 wheeler at 65mph with a cross wind. I fully expected the wobble to go into a full fledged tank slapper, ( thankfully it didn't) so I've had enough. I try to ride a 50/50 mix, usually minus luggage, solo and I'm considering a less aggressive tire rated to match that usage.

My question to the forum, since I'm retaining the rear, which front would you replace the front RallyZ with? 

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old, they grow old because they quit playing" Oliver Wendell Holmes - Mods - HDB handguards, Camel-ADV Gut guard, 1 finger clutch, The Fix pedal & Rally pipe, RR side/tail rack, RR 90nm spring & Headlight guard, Rally seat, OEM heated grips- stablemate Beta 520RS

If you never plan to see mud, I've found the Mitas E-07 a great tire for road/gravel. Handles well, doesn't track or make noise. Not sure how it works in loose sand (never tried), but it might as well be a racing slick in mud.

• Like 1

I think I have Yamaha disease...

Dunlop trail max mission is worth a look. Great road manners, quiet, smooth, stable at all speeds. Surprisingly comfortable in the dirt for it’s  street bias looks. Like most genuine 50/50’s, substantial mud seems to be it’s week point, but still far better than the stock STR front in all conditions.

• Like 2