Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

2 Pin Aux connector- no power!!

Canuck8

After getting half my bike apart in order to install a usb/voltmeter in the aux socket using the aux 2 pin connector, I could not get it to work. Appears to be no power to the 2 pin connector. Verified the usb unit was working by trying the leads on the battery. Sparked right up. To say that I am frustrated would be an overwhelming understatement. Had to put the bike back together so going in there for a second go will be a punch in the nuts. Any ideas? I'm an electrical newbie to say the least.

Cheers,

Brian

Go to a hardware store and get a cheap volt meter, verify the 2-pin from the bike has voltage. If so, double check you have the +/- on the right terminals on the outlet you are installing. 

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Tried to use a voltmeter but wasnt sure if I was using it correctly. Tried switching +/- and that didnt work either.

Get some beer and invite a buddy over to help...

• Like 1

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

That 2-pin connector is switched on with the key.... did you turn the key on when you tried it?

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

4 minutes ago, Hibobb said:

That 2-pin connector is switched on with the key.... did you turn the key on when you tried it?

Yep. Tried with the key on and running. Neg.

Maybe the hot wire touched the frame and you blew out the 2-amp fuse.

Or

Maybe the outlet you are wiring (usb & volt meter) blew up if the wires were reversed initially.

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

USB unit is ok. Do you know where the fuse is located for that wire. Is it in the fuse box near the battery or is it in line somewhere.

two fuse boxes near battery

• Like 1

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Capture.JPG

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Is the 12V accessory socket on the left side working?  From memory I believe the 12V socket and the connector you are using share the same 2A fuse.