Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

what inspired you to first start riding?

Christopher

I was a kid during Evel Knievel’s fame and spent my time jumping my banana-seat pedal bike over ramps and wearing out my Evel Kneivel Stunt Cycle toy. I couldn’t wait to have a bike of my own one day!

Then came the first televised Paris-Dakar, and the hook was set for life! 

FA73E309-C085-4201-806C-98A8442ABEC7.jpeg

• Like 1
  • Haha 2
44 minutes ago, Christopher said:

I was a kid during Evel Knievel’s fame and spent my time jumping my banana-seat pedal bike over ramps and wearing out my Evel Kneivel Stunt Cycle toy. I couldn’t wait to have a bike of my own one day!

Then came the first televised Paris-Dakar, and the hook was set for life! 

FA73E309-C085-4201-806C-98A8442ABEC7.jpeg

Almost the same story, and I had exactly the same toy as above. Wish I still had it, probably worth a lot of money by now. 

I have been riding since I was seven years old, on a little Honda CT 70 I started my journey. 

• Like 2
  • Premium Member

Likewise, TavisB. 

My father has always been a motorcycle enthusiast, and I was put on the back of the bike at age 4. No-one has got me of a bike ever since. ? 

Fabros

• Like 2
  • 4 months later...

I knew someone who had a KV175 and a mutual friend suggested I buy it off them, so I did, for $40. It never had a seat, had no oil in the gear box and motor oil in the premix. I never did get a proper seat for it but I sorted the oil and had many fun hours on it just riding around the paddock near my house.

• Like 1
  • 2 weeks later...

always loved two wheels, I was not privileged to a bicycle until I was 15 years old, I used to rent bicycles for an hour or two for a penny or less and ride cross legged and enjoy every bit of it when I was younger.

my parents bought me a street type bicycle which was my ride for my college, I used to peddle my way to home for lunch everyday and time it every time, so I knew I loved fast!