Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

should I choose the Tenere 700?

Beano05

G'day everyone,

I'm new to motorcycling and I will have my full unrestricted licence by the time the T700 is released. I currently ride an MT07  and I use it to commute to work, (120km round trip per day). My mates own BMW GS 1200s, and talk about some off road tracks on some trips they do, and I would love to go on these rides too. Realistically my on road to off road ratio would be 90:10 or 80:20 at best. I really like the T700 as it looks smaller, lighter and more easier to handle than those big BMW gs's. With the correct tyres for my style of riding, would this bike be a good commuter with the benefits of go anywhere when needed?

cheers

36 minutes ago, Beano05 said:

G'day everyone,

I'm new to motorcycling and I will have my full unrestricted licence by the time the T700 is released. I currently ride an MT07  and I use it to commute to work, (120km round trip per day). My mates own BMW GS 1200s, and talk about some off road tracks on some trips they do, and I would love to go on these rides too. Realistically my on road to off road ratio would be 90:10 or 80:20 at best. I really like the T700 as it looks smaller, lighter and more easier to handle than those big BMW gs's. With the correct tyres for my style of riding, would this bike be a good commuter with the benefits of go anywhere when needed?

cheers

For 90% on road I would just get an MT-07 or Tracer 700. Same engine, but more suited for road use. 

The Tracer700 is better suited for trips over the MT-07, better element protection and better rear sub frame set up for cargo... For 90%+ road use either will suffice- quite a few MT-07 forum users have done transcontinental trips( nice smooth dirt roads- no trails/goat tracks/mx stuff, they just put decent suspension on) ...