Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Advise needed.

UtahJack

OK, I am the first to admit it, I have very little experience in the dirt, and what little I have was over thirty years ago. Everything is different from tarmac ridding, from technique to gear.

Here is my dilemma, I recently bought some ridding gear, mostly in anticipation of upcoming cold weather, but also as a result of my banged up knees from a go down. Well trying not to spend a lot of money I bought an A.R.C. Battleborn Jacket and pants. I thought I would try out the pants with the thermal liner removed and the vents open to see how they worked in warm weather. I wasn't that happy with the fit. the waist was fine but the inseam was a little long and even after moving the knee armor to the upper pocket when I walked around the top of the knee armor was bellow the top of my knee. Setting on the bike they were fine even standing on the bike they weren't bad.

The problem is after about three hours of dirt ridding mostly sitting I developed blisters an my knees. Now I don't know if it is just because I am not use to it, or if I need to glue some foam on the back of the knee armor, or if I should look at putting different armor in the pants, or should I just look at different pants?

Many years ago for many years I wore full leathers, granted they weren't great for walking around in either, but the fit was completely different and I never got blisters even though back then the armor was much more rigid nobody had ever heard of D30.

So as the title says I could use some advise from all you out there that have more dirt and adventure bike experience, which would include just about everybody.      

Try a layer underneath, a long john type pair of wicking garment.  If you get a good pair, they don't add any real heat retention, but give you that layer to resist chafing/blistering.  That and make sure the armor isn't sliding or moving around dramatically as you ride.