Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

T700 and Short Riders

seaWall

i am 5'7 or 170cm and i really want this bike and i am planning to buy this bike.  how do you guys, short riders, deal with the seat height?  i am new to adv riding and this was my number one concern.  if anyone can give a detailed review about being short and owning a t700 that would be great.  and if anyone can post pics about this topic that would be great aswell.  thanks

• Like 1

• 2 months later...

@seaWall Just saw this thread and since nobody has chimed in for you I thought I'd give my 2 cents.

I'm 5'8" with a 30"-ish inseam. I've got the T7 in stock setup right now and find the seat height just a bit too high. It's perfectly manageable on the street as long as you pay attention; I can get both feet touching and just lean the bike a little bit to feel confident on one foot. I'm wearing Forma Adventure boots to give a little more reach.

That being said I wouldn't be able to get a foot down unexpectedly and off-road it would probably be a problem.

I'm hesitant to do a  lowering kit because it creates issues with the side-stand (mixed reports on this) and possibly the center stand. Not to mention I just don't like the notion of getting a bike with a certain amount of travel and losing 3/4" of it right away (not that I'm experienced enough/aggressive enough to ever need it!). One reason I WOULD consider the lowering links is that it would lower the whole bike's center of gravity, which would make those low-speed turns a little easier. Such a turn was the cause of my first drop so far.

I do have a Seat Concepts lower seat foam kit on order and I think that will instill a lot more confidence.

Hope that helps!

Edited by HoboHighlander
trying to tag OP
  • Like 1