Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Long term assessment of the lowering seat.

Allen Kelly

I have been using the lowering seat now for 8 months and firstly I will say it helped to get my feet planted on the ground. It is reasonably comfortable short term riding but herein lays the problem. If you plan to ride medium to long distance (roughly 2 hours) it is bloody uncomfortable, you can guarantee you are going to wiggling around on it trying to alleviate the discomfort within your rear end. I would not recommend anyone using it for these types of riding. Lowering links would be the go or else a pair of platform boots for us vertically challenged riders. Cheers all.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Just to contradict you (because it's all a matter of opinion). I have a low seat and lowering links and I my bum loves the seat but I'm not so happy about the links (ground clearance and side stand issues). Once I've got a few more hours on the bike I'll be putting the original links back in.

I installed the Yamaha lowering links.   For the cost the difference wasn't worth it.    They made the rear suspension a lot softer. I had to add more preload to the rear shock.  I did not like how it affected the ride and the loss of ground clearance.   I put the stock links back on.  Thanks Allen for posting I was considering the seat.

Hey folks!

What are your heights? I'm around 5'8"/171 cm with a 30"/77cm inseam.

I'm going to pick up my T7 this week and hadn't planned to do any lowering right out of the gate.

I sat on one at a dealer back in August and to my recollection it was tall but not impossible to manage. I only sat on it for a moment because it was already sold and the salesperson was a bit antsy about me sitting on it at all, hahahah.