Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Bent triple clamp causing crooked bars?

Jo John Johnson

My bars are slightly crooked when riding straight. It was like this from factory so at my 600 mile maintenance I took it to the dealer and had them inspect. They said the bars were slightly off and they adjusted. Now my bars slightly crooked to the other side. I’ve been looking at the bike trying to figure out what is causing it to be crooked and I really can’t figure it out. The only thing that looks off is the triple clamp. One side of the forks might be slightly lower than the other. The actual triple clamp itself looks slightly offset at the gap for the bolts as well. 

Has anyone else ran into this issue? Does anyone have any advice for anything I can do my self to get the bars straight? 

I’m new to motorcycles. Sorry for the ignorance. 

00DAC530-78CC-447D-AAF6-E046A0529E6B.jpeg

3047FC15-940F-4169-958F-4E4DA005EB6C.jpeg

99016ECD-3A32-4FF1-93DB-8E926902F9CA.jpeg

CAFC97A6-4D1C-46F7-9221-69917BDA06D2.jpeg

Stand over the front wheel and lock it with your legs and give the handle bars a good yank in the direction you need. The yoke is rubber mounted. 

OR

lock the steering and do it that way. It’s designed to give a bit each way

I've had a similar steering alignment issue after crashing mine. I had some trouble getting everything lined back up properly. I'd recommend giving the front end a proper once over to get steering alignment back and rule out any fork twist which could lead to you wearing out the fork bushings:

1. Slacken the upper fork pinch bolts to the top triple .

2. Slacken the fork pinch bolts to the front wheel axle.

3. Loosen off the steering head top nut (you'll probable need to remove the bars and risers). 

4. With the bike on a paddock/centre-stand, cycle the front forks (this will 'relax' the front end assembly and remove any twist from the forks and upper and lower triple, and front wheel axle).