Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Changing a tire tube on the road

DT675

So I’m not new to motorcycles by no means but I am new to long distance/ adventure riding.  One thing I want to be able to do is change a tube on the trail. I’ve been thinking about this for awhile now. I’m going to get a motion pro bead breaker/ tire spoons.  They have super long steel ones for home use and short aluminum ones for on the trail.

The thing I’m worried about with the aluminum ones is- are they long enough to do the job? Strong enough? Has anyone actually used them on the trail? Does the bead breaker part even work? I’d love to get the shorter and lighter ones but if they make the job near impossible then it doesn’t matter. 

Last thing, I don’t know about you but any time I have changed a motorcycle tire at home I’ve had to use something to lube the rim to either get the tire to slide over and/ or seat the bead. How is this done on the trail? What are you bringing with to assist with this?  

Thanks for any suggestions! 

The shorter Motion Pro Bead Breaker works well. I usually find that I have to work my way around the tyre a bit.

Starting with a little “nibble” and gradually building up to bigger bites.

They do work, are very strong in my experience and I wouldn’t travel without them.

As for some kind of lube to get the tyre seated back on the rim ..... shower gel from my washkit worked last time, it’s all I had. 
The time before I was near a shop so bought some washing up liquid.

• Like 2

I recently bought the MP short aluminum bead breakers and they’ve been fine to brake the bead (with patience) and remove/replace tyres (Stiff walled Mitas E09’s)

They are super light and compact so easily fit in my Kriega Tall pack with a small tin of WD40 (The lubricant of choice as recommended by Lyndon Poskitt)

https://youtu.be/r7mBa7-5OIg

• Like 1