Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Very heavy tall rider questions.

Goblin

Sorry if this has been answered before but I looked through this forum and either couldn't find the right info or couldn't decipher the right info as I'm very new to motorcycles.

I'm 6'6" (198.1cm) and 305lbs (138kg). I am planning on losing weight but I do a bit of strength training and coaching so it's only going to be 30lbs at most until I decide to stop. 

Anyway, I am planning on grabbing a Tenere 700 next month as I do want to add some fun to my camping trips and I figure it would be a good commuter too and it's perfectly within by budget, however I haven't been able to find much information about people my weight and height riding this bike. I know that I have to replace the rear spring at least and possibly the fork springs and adjust some rebound settings but that's about it. I really don't know what parts to buy to do so, I can follow a youtube tutorial and I am decently mechanically minded and have access to a bunch of tools but I don't really know what parts to buy, where to buy them and what I have to do to adjust this bike to my weight.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

Edited by Goblin

• Moderators

Based on what I've seen you will probably be needing:

Upgraded rear shock - (>90Nm)

Stronger fork springs

OEM Rally seat (or wait for a Seat Concepts tall offering)

Lower footpegs & bar risers (depending on ergonomic fit)

Lower windscreen (produces clean airflow less buffeting - go with this one from Powerbronze), or go the opposite direction and get a massive screen (which I would not recommend on an offroad biased bike.)

• Like 1

Riding footage: www.instagram.com/beefmoto

Message me if you are close - let's go riding!