Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Is the Tenere too off road focused?

Storyplay9

Hey guys, planning on picking one of these up by the end of the year (if I can find one lol) but I do need some insight.  As much as I am enthralled by seeing pictures and videos of adventure bikes going off road and blowing up clouds of dust and conquering hills and trails, I'm trying to be real with myself, and that most of the riding I will be doing is on the street.  Fret not however, if I buy one of these I will take down some dirt roads and off road, I'm just not sure if the Tenere is over kill.  I have zero off road motorcycle experience, but don't mind that too much, it sounds fun to me which is enough for me to conclude it will be at least enjoyable for me.  My main question is if I don't go do hard core off road stuff, am I wasting the bike?  Maybe a tiger 900 is more suitable, or a KTM more sophisticated, but price is a factor.  I really like the Tenere, but is it just too much for light - medium off road duty?  Thanks for any insight in advance!  

Edited by Storyplay9

Before more insight is given, uh, hey just keep in mind this bike has the same engine as the hyper-naked street bike, the MT-07..

It's kind of hard to say without knowing what kind of dirt riding you are looking to do and if you have much desire to spend time getting better at dirt riding.

If you have relatively smooth input you can honestly get away with WAY more riding a street bike with street tires on the dirt than people give them credit for. I have some dirt bike experience as well, but I'm no off-road master and I have taken my FZ1 up some absolutely stupid dirt trails on its street tires that people are scared to take their AWD SUVs on. Loose rocks, sand, and mud are problems, however, but again, that was on 100% street tires on a street bike. A Versys 650, CB500x, Africa Twin, Tiger, BMW GS', etc with 50/50 tires (or worse) can take you much further than that, all while being more road oriented.