Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

? accessories draining battery

T700NB

Question

Hello, looking for some help.  About three times in the last year my battery has run dead when I have gone about a week without starting my bike.  I have the Yamaha grip warmers that are wired to the extra aux plug on the right side which I believe is only active when the ignition is on.  The only other accessories I have are a quad lock wireless charging base and a dual USB outlet with voltmeter (ironically) on the right side opposite the stock DC plug, both I wired directly to the battery.  These both have a very small led light to indicate they are functioning which is on all the time, key or no key.  I am a complete amateur with anything mechanical especially electrical but I did wire these all up myself.  Just wondering if its possible that these two tiny LEDs would be enough to drain the battery in a week??  Is there somewhere else I should look?  Is there a way to get around having these wired direct to battery if they are the likely cause??  Thanks for any help.

24 answers to this question

All the connectors, wiring looms and stuff with the correct plugs can be found here:

I added a Rowe PDM60 to my bike to add anything I need. I did use the 3 wire plug under the right side and wired my GPS to the +/- and the third wire is a trigger, so I ran than wire back to the PDM and then hooked the PDM +/-  to the battery. Now I have all the protected power I need and no more drain. I still have the left side plug too but was gonna use that for Aux light if/when I get them. Heated gear or other accessories I will run off the PDM. The PDM mounts right under the frame cross brace behind the battery, out of the way and protected! No more fuses, if a circuit trips, find the short/issue and correct it then turn the key off/on and it resets the PDM breaker. Simple and easy-

Look at the second plug down, that is the one for the right side 3 wire plug on the stock harness-

Edited by Firebolter