Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Hello from Green Bay, WI

Kevin P

Good morning!   My name is Kevin and I live in Green Bay, WI.  I have been riding (road) for many years, in fact more than I would like to admit.   I had always wanted to adventure ride and a few years back bought a 2015 Vstrom XT.  I have taken that bike along quite a few forest roads, including the Trans Wisconsin Adventure Trail and MABDR.  At the end of the MABDR (last year) I decided that I would like a taller, slightly lighter bike.   The search for a T7 began, I finally found one and am flying down to TX to get it a week from tomorrow!  

My plan is to pick it up at the dealer, ride to Russelville, AR via 2 lanes, then on 9/11 ride some of the butler rated roads to Rolla, MO or potentially Columbia, MO.  The 12th would be a game day call as to whether I travel the roads more frequently travelled or two lane back to Green Bay.  I do have to work Monday, so all is fluid.

I am curious as to what mods / farkle is needed, has been added for adventure riding as I am planning the COBDR next year.

Thanks for the bandwidth,

Kevin

• Like 1

Texas to Green Bay.... Your butt is gonna hurt, the seat starts to suck at 87 miles and then gets exponentially worse as the miles add up.

• Like 1

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Yup to standard seat. Get the original one piece (+40mm) seat straight away. I’ve done 6 hours on it with no pain. And it fits a whole load of tools in in too. 👍you won’t regret the t7. 

Welcome!

I don't think the stock seat is that bad!

With regards to farkles, I installed better handgaurds which are mandatory for trail riding imo.  A better bash plate would be nice for CO. From there it is all a trade-off with weight.....

The speedo bobble bugged me, so i put on the camel antibobble.

Enjoy the new bike. It is so much better off road than the vstrom.