Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Spring recommendations for open cart/rear shock setup for Desert Racing

pgeldz

Hey guys, I'm finally getting into the Tenere build now that my racing in MotoAmerica is finished for this season.  I might have a Pro card for Road Racing, but I'm a beginner as far as off road goes.  Need some help with spring rates.

I weigh 74.8 kg without gear.  I'll be wearing ADV gear, and added weight to the bike itself would be Outback Motortek crash bars, OEM accessory skid plate, and R&G side luggage rails.

I plan to use this bike in off road desert racing type environment, with light jumps, whoops, as well as sand dunes.  

I'm having trouble figuring out the correct spring rates.

What would you recommend for the parameters above?

In reading up on the subject through this forum as well as speaking with industry professionals, my initial initial thoughts were 6.0 or 6.3 springs up front, and 7.5 or 8.0 out back.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

🙂

- Paul

3 hours ago, pgeldz said:
Hey guys, I'm finally getting into the Tenere build now that my racing in MotoAmerica is finished for this season.  I might have a Pro card for Road Racing, but I'm a beginner as far as off road goes.  Need some help with spring rates.

I weigh 74.8 kg without gear.  I'll be wearing ADV gear, and added weight to the bike itself would be Outback Motortek crash bars, OEM accessory skid plate, and R&G side luggage rails.

I plan to use this bike in off road desert racing type environment, with light jumps, whoops, as well as sand dunes.  

I'm having trouble figuring out the correct spring rates.

What would you recommend for the parameters above?

In reading up on the subject through this forum as well as speaking with industry professionals, my initial initial thoughts were 6.0 or 6.3 springs up front, and 7.5 or 8.0 out back.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

🙂

- Paul