Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

OEM -> Yamaha Pannier Luggage Cases

ADVUSA

To start off, I have zero knowledge of hard pannier luggage, but enough to know I want hard luggage for this bike for longer

road travels.

Please help with the following:

*  Who makes the OEM Pannier luggage, is it GIVI or Yamaha?

*  Is ALL aluminum luggage bulky or have that super WIDE look with the rack?

* Should I get OEM luggage? Is it worth it?

Does all hard pannier luggage and racks look so  //// WIDE \\\\ AND //// BULKY \\\\ - and therefore it makes no difference really what brand I go with?

I'm wondering if I should go OEM or since I'm concerned about how WIDE it makes the rear of the bike look OR wait for some theoretical slimmer solution of (somewhat slimmer top load) hard cases and rack that will remove the wide bulky impression I have of the OEM luggage?

OEM looks like what I've seen on a Tiger recently - WIDE AND BULKY.

Nick Sanders had OEM pannier luggage on Yamaha's T7  from Paris to Dakar, BUT didn't opt for it on his personal T7.

Mick, what do you think? You own this luggage and likely have more experience with pannier luggage. Is it all the same relatively so

brand really doesn't matter?

Thanks all and ride safe.

Hi,

Generally: all hard panniers are relatively bulky. Having had a Tiger: there they were very wide as the right pannier was placed next to the muffler. The original Yamaha (made by Givi) are relatively "thin" as the right one has a cutaway for the muffler, of course at the cost of some storage volume. They are the same width as the smaller Givi Trekker Outback I believe.

The aftermarket stuff I have seen do not have that cutaway and are therefore placed next to the muffler, making them wider than the original ones. Width may vary brand to brand, but usually not by much.