Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Another noob from NC, USA

Alabamacoastie

Hi everyone! 

I just turned 40yo a couple of days ago.

About a year ago, I bought my first motorcycle; a new 2022 Yamaha TW200.

My dad always had big bikes. He taught me to ride a Honda 250ish cc shadow when I was 12yo. That was a big bike for a 12yo with no riding experience. When I was 16yo I graduated to his Honda 800cc road bike. I never attempted to ride any of his decked out Harley Ultra Glides because I was a teenager and intimidated by their power, weight, and value... I never wanted to find out what my dad would do if I dropped one of his Harleys so I never touched them...

Then,  I enlisted in the Coast Guard and traded bikes and broads for boats and hoes (drug runners actually)... I enjoyed that part of my life, but I only did 6 years. After two trips to Iraq and about 20 counter narcotics patrols in South America, my new wife talked me into getting out and settling down to a safer, non federal leo, lifestyle. I got a free bachelor's degree from Uncle Sam and started a new career in pharmaceutical research. Yes... I went from chasing illegal drugs to creating prescription drugs... I do see the irony there...

So fast forward to last year... I now live on a 30 acre farm in NC. I wanted a bike that I could putt putt around the pasture and legally drive to town, from time to time. But, I hadn't touched a clutch lever in 23 years. I was nervous and decided to go with a safe bet... So, I bought a Yamaha TW200.

I took the rider safety course, got a tag, got a motorcycle license, and over the last year I've put 700 miles on it.  I love driving it all over the rural roads near my home. It's a great bike, and I can't wait to teach my young daughters to ride it when they are old enough. 

But, after a year, I'm really comfortable on it and feeling bored with the top speed of 59mph. I want a new bike that's street legal, offroad ready, and can go fast enough for major highways.