Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Hello from CA!

Otis24

Hello,

I'm not a T700 owner yet. 

It's been reccommended to me by several friends who know much more about motos than I do. After reading and watching reviews for the past few weeks I believe this is the next bike for me. 

I only started riding in 2015. My first bike was a $400 1995 Yamaha YZF 600 that was a mess but it worked...mostly. It had about 85,000 miles on it and I knew the previous 4 owners. It had been crashed a lot. 

After riding that thing 5,000 miles I upgraded to a 2009 Suzuki V-Strom DL 650.

I've put almost 30K on the Vstrom. It's a great commuter and I take it on the occasional weekend camping trip on forest service roads. I've been though a lot on this bike. I feel slightly attached to it so I'm going to keep it as my daily driver and see how many miles I can get out of it...just passed 57K. Hopefully it'll be a good commuter for a few more years at least. 

The T700 will mostly be used for weekend trips to the mountains for camping. I have a 2003 Tacoma that I removed the bed and built a flat bed camper in it's place. I love that truck and camper but I love riding a motorcycle to camp spots. I don't love the 14 mpg that it gets. 

I probably won't start the search for a T700 until next year but I'm going to start a list of mods for it.

Crash bars, skid plates, suspension and whatever else looks like I would get use out of that I see on this forum. 

I'm looking forward to learning about this bike and what everyone here thinks of it and does with it. 

• Like 2

The Wee-Strom is a great bike, good choice to hang on to it.

T7, if you are looking new in the USA, get your name on a list now. It seems they are STILL are waiting lists here.

The Yamaha is wayyy cooler than the DL, but they are both good M/C's.

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Just now, Hibobb said:

The Wee-Strom is a great bike, good choice to hang on to it.