Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

greetings from switzerland!

nEEdLzZz

hey guys

so i currently don't own a tenere 700 (yet?) but i'm really interested in one.

i have a MT-09 SP as a road bike since mid 2018 and i've done 25k km on it. it's just the perfect road bike IMO - coming from several naked and sportbikes over years. also i just sold my little wr250x in order to get an adventure bike.

but the thing is, i have very little to none experience in offroad riding and i'm torn between getting the tenere 700 or starting out on a smaller bike, since it will be easier to learn the ropes on a smaller bike. but i also want to use it to get to the offroad places to ride, since we are pretty limited in switzerland in that regard.

what would you guys recommend me? get a smaller bike or jump straight to the t7?

cheers!

Welcome!

I have come from bigger bikes (BMW R1150 GS adventure, Triumph Tiger 800xc). Learning off-road riding, or more precisely getting the confidence in the bike and your skills is actually what it's about. I started with zero confidence and slowly gained that, with the added bonus of lighter bikes. 

The skills - imho - are best learned coming up from a small bike (wheelies, turns etc, are easier when your bike is more forgiving and built to fall down often. Confidence might need a toss - coming from a 250, a 700 or larger may even seem daunting.

The T7 has got the sweet spot between agility for off-road and endurance on long motorway hauls. Bigger becomes more cumbersome, smaller less capable as a travel bike. 

The best advice I can give: do an off-road training. It helps your to avoid the most common mistakes. Then practice, practice, practice. Ride with other people sightly better than you (if they can do something, you probably can too). And buy crash bars :-).

• Like 1

• Premium Member

MT09 and sports bikes while living in Switzerland, I'm surprised you're not in the jail with their speeding laws. 

• Haha 1

Hi nEEdLzZz,