Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Exhaust and Tuning

Yamablueridge

I’m new to the Tenere and have found this site to be a great source for info. Thought I’d share my experiences with the vendors as I’m really impressed with the response times and products.

On the exhaust there’s a ton of options out there, I went with Black Widow. The pound is way down so it’s a great time to support our friends in the UK. I could not believe it when the Black Widow exhaust showed up four days after ordering. The full system came with all the fixins- O2 extension, pipe sealant and they even tossed in new seals for the exhaust ports. My setup was the same as this dudes:

The packaging and instructions were first rate too. Some people have had issues with the joints leaking but I had no snags with a very, very, very (John Cleese in time bandits) light smear of Hi-temp red on both the female and male ends. I left the baffle in and it’s plenty loud to scare critters, while not an ear splitting droning menace. 

The tuning as to be expected was a bit more involved. I went with 2WDW email tune and the FTECU kit. The FTECU kit works great it does take a bit of time pinning the ECU, with that bastard orange wire in the middle row. Had a few snags getting it connected to the laptop but I phoned FTECU and they were able to straighten me out on the download steps, great service with none of the let me get your number and we’ll call you back nonsense. 

2WDW was super responsive as well, sent in my request in the morning and had the tune by mid afternoon same day. And it’s spot on, no decel fueling issues or backfiring and it just rips. It’s super smooth roll ons and seemingly better temps (chilly fall weather) the fan kicks at 200.

I couldn’t be happier with all three vendors and highly recommended them. My bike is euro5 if you have an E5 double check the ECU number for support.