Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Why won't the tenere pop like de mt7

Pov_ride_with_m

HI guys, great being here. Im kinda new to the tenere 700. I was wondering why is there such a big difference between the sound of the tenere and the mt07 while both of them have the same engine, i mean the the decal popping is not as agressive as mt07.
For some it might seem an obvius answer but i couldn't find info anywhere. Thanks for the help in any case

I on the otherhand dislike mine poping.. [i ride a lot of track's with horses]    but i guess your running the stock exaust ?

The deceleration that you’re speaking of is caused from a lean condition.  99% of people do not want the popping.  However, there is the 1%.   

• Like 1

Drill a hole in the linkpipe just before the muffler. False air by a leaky gasket from the headers to the linkpipe causes popping so i guess a hole will do too.

But the same engines are not perse the same engines.
I also have a Honda Crosstourer (VFR1200X) and that model has the same engine as the VFR1200F but because they are different bikes and therefore they have different cams, gears and mapping. Don't know if that's the case with the T and MT but it would be logical to get the different characters.

My guess is the shorter exhaust system length on the MT causes the popping. The exhaust gasses don’t get as cool as they do on the T7 so any unburnt hydrocarbons are still hot enough to burn when they hit the air.

18 hours ago, Ray Ride4life said:

Drill a hole in the linkpipe just before the muffler. False air by a leaky gasket from the headers to the linkpipe causes popping so i guess a hole will do too.

But the same engines are not perse the same engines.
I also have a Honda Crosstourer (VFR1200X) and that model has the same engine as the VFR1200F but because they are different bikes and therefore they have different cams, gears and mapping. Don't know if that's the case with the T and MT but it would be logical to get the different characters.