Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Horn activates front blinkers?!

Atheos

So when I got my bike (2021 Tenere 700) I noticed the horn was pitiful! So I swapped it out with sound a sound bomb mini. Used it over the past year with no issues. 

Recently I installed the Cyclops 3.0 blinkers, when doing all my tests I noticed something weird, when I hit my horn it activate the front blinkers... but not the rear. Both of the front look like they are go through there start up sequence. 

I emailed Cyclops to see if they had any ideas, they say their kit shouldn't tie into the horn in anyway, and that something must be crossed...

I'm thinking maybe a bad ground somewhere but I'm not sure where to even start. Anyone have any ideas or seem something like this on another bike? I'm really not sure what to make of it, I have limited experience/knowledge with electrical but both of these things are just plug and play.

• 2 weeks later...

Clearly you have made a mistake somewhere. Strip everything back to normal and start over. 

"Eternally, unavoidably, eventually, all paths will lead to the cemetery." Sentenced

He said plug and play…

Check all wiring harnesses to see if you’ve rubbed through and are shorting wires together. Are the horn and signal switches in the same casing? If so take that apart and see if anything is shorting. 

• Moderators
2 hours ago, Samm said:

He said plug and play…

Check all wiring harnesses to see if you’ve rubbed through and are shorting wires together. Are the horn and signal switches in the same casing? If so take that apart and see if anything is shorting. 

Agreed, he stated it was plug n play, but assuming that the received harness is correct  after experiencing that issue isn't something I would do.