Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Are crash bars really needed on the Tenere 700?

Cruizin

I have been riding since 1974. I have owned over 35 motorcycles in my life and I ride hard.  I have never put a set of crash bars on a motorcycle, ever. On my DRZ 400, I did like most people and bought some cheap case savers, basically round metal discs with sticky tape on the back, because the DRZ has thin metal cases on the engine.  But other than that I have never installed anything beyond skid plates on a motorcycle and have never busted a case open.  I have scratched em up on the rocks. But hell, scratching is riding when you venture off road. 

Have any of you dumped your T7 over yet, or wrecked it offroad? Did the cases bust open and leak oil? 

Im really curious about this.   Are they really needed? Or, do they just look cool sitting outside of Starbucks? 

• Like 1

Have a look at 2:34 ... to see damage ... and it<s close to the radiator, that is the main concern I think.

... so probably you do not need protection ... if you are good.

🙂

Here is the crash video ... 

12 hours ago, Cruizin said:

I have been riding since 1974. I have owned over 35 motorcycles in my life and I ride hard.  I have never put a set of crash bars on a motorcycle, ever. On my DRZ 400, I did like most people and bought some cheap case savers, basically round metal discs with sticky tape on the back, because the DRZ has thin metal cases on the engine.  But other than that I have never installed anything beyond skid plates on a motorcycle and have never busted a case open.  I have scratched em up on the rocks. But hell, scratching is riding when you venture off road. 

Have any of you dumped your T7 over yet, or wrecked it offroad? Did the cases bust open and leak oil? 

Im really curious about this.   Are they really needed? Or, do they just look cool sitting outside of Starbucks?