Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

T7 First Trip Review

RiderEh

Well I bought a T7 used recently, and this is my first trip review. I rode it a few short times prior, but I did a 600km overnight trip a few weeks ago.

I'm coming off a highly modified XR650R I dual sported and rode extensively, including the CDT. I'm an expert level hare scramble/XC/hard enduro guy, though I no longer race I was getting podiums in Expert years back.

The bike I bought had quite a few mods including:

K-Tech valving up front, with springs (not sure size), and 95Nm rear shock spring

OEM Center stand

OEM front and rear racks with paniers

OEM hard cases

Oxford grip heaters

MRA Tall windscreen

Gripes:

• So far I've decided I need to get rid of the center stand (bangs on rocks and whatever), and rear rack with hard boxes (clipped tree's and such on single track, way too wide and heavy). 
  • The play in the throttle which I can hopefully adjust,
  • Rear brake is awful, I'll buy a Camel
  • Still some buffering on windscreen, so I bought some cheap risers off Aliexpress
  • Clutch is awful, it releases only the last portion and engagement is not very linear, I'll get the Camel system
  • The paint wore off quickly where I grip with my boots, I may try some 3m tape
  • I think it needs better gearing for high speed as it gets quite vibratey at 100-120 kmh
  • Where's the kickstarter? (hah!)
  • The speedometer being off by 10% (I will leave as is as my trip odometer is very close to GPS, I'll use GPS for speed)
  • Not near as much power as my friends VStrom 800 DE I tried
  • Always having to shut off ABS on steep loose downhills
  • Seat is a bit stiff
  • handguards are a bit cheesey
  • where's the cruise control?

Wins: 

• Loved the oxford grips
  • Loved the torque and power
  • Love the ability to ride form home to fun destinations and not truck the bike