Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Rear Brake Line Failure

TheoremX

Question

Yesterday while riding I had what looks like a rupture of my rear brake line. Came into a dirt corner and went to hit the rear brake, didn’t get anything, pumped it a couple of times and heard a dull “pop”. Did get braking back, but it was weak. Pulled over when I noticed my ABS light turn on. Wouldn’t let me come out of off road mode. Power cycled the bike and now it’s in normal street mode with the ABS light still on. Will not change modes anymore and ABS is off front and rear. After stopping, I looked back and noticed a ton of brake fluid, every time I would pump the brakes, a ton more would pour out. Shorty thereafter on my ride home, the check engine light came on. No idea why, the bike is running fine, minus the loss of the rear brake. Good idle, good power, no issues stopping and starting. Anyone have any experience with this? This is my first time having a brake malfunction on a bike, I’m a little out of my realm of knowledge.AF5670AC-26B8-47F5-8CD7-60E37A8E3899.jpeg.01f640f5a15a0c6ff20d1afbdb96f263.jpeg183FE3C4-6699-4DD6-9576-C1A5E492D599.jpeg.26550de049dbd2b7a944e562c53465c5.jpeg64EFBE0C-5EB1-4E9D-A27D-21DA7033F914.jpeg.59a43d27a406a6f91e5bf0fe5b863058.jpeg

16 answers to this question

@TheoremX is it leaking from the brake line or banjo joint itself, or at the banjo bolt? If the former I guess you need to replace the line. If the latter, service manual says 30 Nm is correct torque if the bolt is loose.

I believe the check engine light actually just means the ECU threw a code, not necessarily just for engine issues. There's a list of error codes in the SELF-DIAGNOSTIC FUNCTION AND DIAGNOSTIC CODE TABLE section in the last section of the service manual (section 9 in the version I have) so you'd just need to locate a reader with the cable for a Tenere, or take it to a dealer.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1