Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Too much Bike for older folks?

jb92563

I am in a bit of a quandary with deciding whether I should keep my Tenere 700 or move to a lighter bike more beginner bike.

I'm new to off roading but went to a one day offroad course using one of their Dual Sport bikes.

Month later, in Socal, when I finally got my T700 I went out on some off road trails, with a group, that were quite rocky with loose and sandy sections.

I fell off about 4 times in 30 miles at low speed and became really exhausted lifting/fighting with the T700.

I ended up riding a slower pace in order not to fall anymore as I was too exhausted to pick the bike up one more time.

I became discouraged and feel like the T700 is too tiring to lift so many times in a ride.
I did lower it to help get my feet down but have not been off-road since.

The bike feels top heavy and letting it get much past vertical at slow speed just makes it impossible to save in time.

I'm debating whether I should go with a lighter easier bike like a Honda CRF300 Rally or just be persistent and hang in there with the T700 till I get more experience?

A fellow with a CRF 300 said I should stick with the T700 as I might feel like I want the T700 back after playing with the 300 for a couple months due to outgrowing it.

I'm not into racing and prefer a docile peaceful ride through nature and stopping to enjoy the scenery so not sure if outgrowing an easier bike is a concern.

Any word of encouragement for going either route and sharing your own experiences would help.

I'm a new older rider in my 60's and only rode street bikes for a while about 15 years ago. 

• Like 1

You already know the answer.... get a used street legal dirt bike.

A 450 pound T7 is massive for a old guy with little experience.

A T7 is wonderful, but it is what it is. Don't sell it yet, just add the smaller bike to the garage.

• Like 5

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~