Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Riding buddies, what's your story?

AZJW

• Moderators

@Hollybrook noted in a post yesterday about a ride he took with a friend with whom he'd been riding with for 50 years. It got me to thinking about my best friend ( Mark) who I've been riding dirt with since 9 years old. That puts us at 59 years of riding together ( you do the math on my age) 😉 so needless to say, we have a lot of ride time together.   In all those years of riding little 50cc Hondas all the way up to our current fire breathing 500cc stuff, one thing has remained constant,  we have a blast! Our families have vacationed together with our kids and have had more than a few Thanksgiving dinners in the desert. Of course dirtbikes were present and it was tough prying everyone off of them to start the turkey feast!

A byproduct of all that seat time is that we've developed a 6th sense as to what & when the other is going to do. Having ridden no doubt thousands of miles of 2 track side by side ( to keep out of each other's dust) we've learned to give way when the other's track is too gnarly to get through.  Obviously single track is different,  although we still follow each other extremely closely.  Mainly to try and minimize dust, but it's also a macho/ competitive thing with the lead trying (unconsciously?) to lose the trailer.  It makes for great fun blasting into blind corners only to slam on the brakes to keep from rear ending the leader who found an unexpected obstacle to negotiate.