Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

What is this gunk on my engine?

nullsson

Hello, I'm very new to motorcycles (only had my license for like 6 months~) and Tenere 700 became my first bike.

I bought it used and it had 11000km when I bought it, now I've ridden like 2000km and I've noticed several times some weird gunk running down on the side of my engine. I can't identify what it is and I'm just worried that maybe there is some damage to the bike.

Someone said it might be excessive chain lube that has caused it. I have a chain lube spray that I've recently tried to spray on my chain every 300km or so but this black gunk did come before I started doing that. 

IMG_1314.jpg

b6f44888-83ce-4994-91b8-ee856fe7127a.jpg

27fcff9c-97be-42a9-91a6-6b8f39f78957.jpg

I have exactly the same - and have suspected too much chain lube. But I´d like to know what the more experiences guys have to say about it!

I’d say as you thought a mixture of chain lube and crud coming from your front sprocket

take the front sprocket cover off  and give the area and your chain a good clean and the lightly lubricate - my thoughts are little and often - obviously depending on your riding 

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Lewie said:

I’d say as you thought a mixture of chain lube and crud coming from your front sprocket

take the front sprocket cover off  and give the area and your chain a good clean and the lightly lubricate - my thoughts are little and often - obviously depending on your riding 

When applying chain lube is the correct way to just spray it on my chain and rotate the wheel a couple of spins or should I spray and then rub / wipe it off with a cloth?

Also when cleaning the area around the engine and under sprocket cover, what is the best products to use? Do I need degreaser or is it enough with something like much-off ?

Edited by nullsson

2 hours ago, nullsson said: