Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Tips for lowering front forks

TontoAssistento

Question

Hi. 

Just installed the oem lowering links. Now next thing for me is to lower tge forks a littlebit. 

I am not a mechanic, so I would like to have some step by step tips to do it. 

How much shoud it be lowered since I have the oem lowering links? 

How did you do it?

15mm seems to be the generally accepted maximum that the forks can be lowered. The height is set by measuring from the top of the lower triple clamp to the top of the fork outer tube and as standard should be 215mm. Therefor the fork legs can be moved up in the triple clamps until this dimension is 230mm.

Take the weight off the forks by supporting the bike under the forward part of the engine guard, preferably with a scissor jack, then loosen the clamp bolts on the triple clamps one leg at a time and adjust the height of the leg in the triple clamps to the new dimension (230mm). You may have to lower the front of the bike a little. Re-torque the clamp bolts to the specified torque.  23 N•m (2.3 kgf•m, 17 lb•ft) for the top bolts and 20 N•m (2.0 kgf•m, 15 lb•ft). Then do the same to the other fork leg.

• Like 6
  • Thanks 1

6 hours ago, Engineer said:

15mm seems to be the generally accepted maximum that the forks can be lowered. The height is set by measuring from the top of the lower triple clamp to the top of the fork outer tube and as standard should be 215mm. Therefor the fork legs can be moved up in the triple clamps until this dimension is 230mm.