Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

(Un)Perfect Fairings

SpankyPineapple

After I broke a number of the mounting tabs on the rear ABS plastic fairing, I figured I'd try after market (only slightly cheaper than OEM) and ordered the fibre-glass piece from Perfect Fairings.  I'm by no means a composites expert, but here's what I got.  The exterior finish is okay I suppose, but the inside and mounting tabs etc. are a mess.  All sorts of voids in the resin, mounting holes missing, the holes that are there are misaligned, the thickness is completely wrong for all the metal trim clips, the tabs are the wrong size, the rear "hoop" was a solid piece, the holes where other plastic tabs meet up weren't cut out, just a lot of problems.  Took the better part of an afternoon/evening just cutting and sanding to make it useable.  Looks more like a first try/engineering sample than production quality.  I did reach out to them, so far nothing.  Anyone else have better luck with them, or any other composite manufacturers? 

File_000.jpeg

File_001.jpeg

File_002.jpeg

File_003.jpeg

File_005.jpeg

File_006.jpeg

• Like 2

That’s disappointing. I saw those and thought they might be a good alternative as well.  Was hoping they would be stronger.

Is the exterior finish good? Hard to tell from the pictures 

Mike

that is not "perfect" - that glass looks like my kid made it - while intoxicated.

Like everyone else, I'd like an alternative set of plastics,  but that ain't close.    I hope you didnt give them too many of your hard earned shceckels for it, and I hope you are corresponding with them about getitng a production quality replacement.

3 hours ago, MikeCMP said:

That’s disappointing. I saw those and thought they might be a good alternative as well.  Was hoping they would be stronger.

Is the exterior finish good? Hard to tell from the pictures 

Mike