Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Helmet lock

Norm

Not a huge issue until some walks off with my new Arai. I miss my lock on the ol KLR. What do you folks do to keep your lid safe when you leave it with the bike? Maybe a simple cable lock is best and then I can also secure my riding jacket. Any great ideas out there?

Ive been using one of these for a few months, and Im happy with it. 

61UbYx0vhfL._AC_SL1000_.jpg

• Thanks 1

To be honest, none of the 4 bikes I have owned had a helmet lock. I've always just brought it in with me wherever I am going, or left it with the bike if it's a a fairly trustworthy area and I won't be long. Sometimes I'll even hide it somewhere nearby, like behind some bushes, as stupid as that sounds.

I am considering picking up a cable lock, however. I've heard of people looping it through the chin bar of their helmet and the sleeve of their jacket to secure them both to the bike. I also have my comm unit and GoPro mounted on my helmet, so taking both of those off and bringing them with me is also a pain, hence me bringing my helmet with me in its entirety.

If you have a locking top case or really large side cases, you can even fit it in there.

I've returned to my bike to find some asshole has pushed it over, but never come back to have found anything stolen off my bike. Maybe I've just been lucky. Something something Canadians are too nice? I dunno.

Edited by TeabagInsurance
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

If I don't have the topbox I attach it with a cheap cable bike lock to the handlebars.

• Thanks 1

2 hours ago, Hogan said:

I bought a helmet lock off ebay, then made a bracket. It bolts to the LHS passenger peg mount and pokes out between the sub and main frame join.

Do you have a pic??

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

TBH I have never used a helmet lock ever in the 20 years I have had a bike. Usually just left it on the RHS Mirror or threaded it through rear pillion peg. Ive usually owned a $600AUD helmet. LUCK I GUESS