Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Which original part should I have ordered with the bike?

Quant

Good Day.

I've just ordered the T7 and my dealer asked me to write him an email including the original Yamaha parts I want to add to the bike.

The thing is I don't have all the money right now to buy everything I'm planning to so I'm thinking about which parts are a priority considering criteria such as:

- I'm a noob (1 full year experience with motorbike).

- Quality of said Yamaha parts Vs unofficial.

- Price of having it originally coming with the bike VS buying it afterwards and having it installed by the mechanic (including labour cost). 

- I will be driving my bike on the roads mainly but also off roads during vacations. Right now I'm not an such an experienced driver so I don't need all the fancy Rally accessories but I do plan on going offroad of course. 

All considered right now I would be choosing to add the original engine guard as well as the skid plate. That's it. Luggages will come later maybe GIVI we'll see. Until then what to you guys think about it ?

Cheers. 

• Like 1

I'd leave it std for now if you are short of funds and only on the road. Then buy bits cheap from aliexpress when required.  Going off road on a 700cc bike when you are inexperienced might not be the best course of action.  Most learn to ride dirt on small trail/enduro bikes first. 

• Like 2

As  @Redbikejohn has mentioned, a 450 pound T7 is a HUGE bike to be learning offroad skills with. Best of luck to you.... send pictures (wink).

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

11 minutes ago, Hibobb said:

As  @Redbikejohn has mentioned, a 450 pound T7 is a HUGE bike to be learning offroad skills with. Best of luck to you.... send pictures (wink).