Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

TUSK DSport Adventure Tires: DIRT Cheap, but are they any good?

Larson627

Alright so surprise surprise... my Dunlop Enduro Xtrem tires were a nightmate on the T7.

They tread was too narrow for the stock rear rim so there was barely any side lugs pointed in the right direction for cornering/side hill stability. I ate it HARD in a place where I feel like I shouldn't have on my first off road test, (I've been riding dirt bikes for almost 30 years, so my judgement is usually decent, especially on mild doubletrack trails) They were also even scarier on pavement than I expected, rideable but much less joyful to ride than stock. So I studded them for some ice riding antics (video coming soon) and now they are coming off.

Like a lot of you, I have been pouring over page after page of conversations about tires, but I haven't quite been able to settle on anything that is not backordered. Meanwhile, my dad has been telling me every chance he gets to check out Tusk tires. He has a buddy who runs the Tusk Recon Hybrid on his dual sport bike and loves them. Claims they wear like iron, yet they are soft and sticky. Stranger still, the Rear 120 is drastically wider than a common 140 or 150 even. I considered going that route, but feared the non DOT soft tires under a 450lb bike would land me right back where I started. While checking them out over on Rocky Mountain's website (I believe Tusk is an in house brand of theirs) I realized they offer an Adventure tire that I haven't heard a peep about anywhere despite them being available for years now. And good lord are they CHEAP. Pic below doesn't show it but they have a 140 Rear now as well.