Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

General Tube Tire Tech Tip

Kedo Parts USA

I see a lot of tire question and tips, before I started KEDO Parts USA I restored some bikes and I was a tech for a handful of years. One day I was test riding a bike I just got done restoring, maybe it was the slow process but in the end it was my negligence to double check everything. After making sure everything was okay, I wanted to see what the bike would do. I opened it upand about as soon as I did this the back tire went completely flat and I did a controlled stop into a ditch. The culprit tube due to the valve core not being tight. The tire is the first contact patch for motorcycles and should always be double checked. Learn from my mistakes always double check your valve stem nut after instillation, and even after a professional does it. I keep the valve stem on my tool box to remind me of how much I could have lost because of one nut.

IMG_2157.jpg.9be44802717be74bb19a3ede32cf210b.jpg

Edited by Kedo Parts USA
  • Like 2

Thanks for adding the tip @Kedo Parts USA

Here's a question for all: I fitted Dunlop Missions about 2000M ago, and at the same time replaced the tubes, thinking I keep the OEMs as spare. The replacements were "generic" from one of the big Cycle Stores. I'm losing pressure weekly, between rides, to the tune of 3-5 psi at a time. Starting at 32/36 on a Sunday, I'd be 27/33 a week later. As an experiment I added a sealant, thinking the tubes are poor quality/porous, but at this stage I have not sorted the issue. I'll me doing the same this week to come, paying attention to cold temps etc, but I'm at a loss to explain whats wrong?

1) Valve Cores screwed in tight, and not leaking

2) If I pinched the tubes (both!) when installing, I should be losing air faster?

I look forward to some collective wisdom here, please!

Chris

1 hour ago, Kedo Parts USA said: