Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Tenere or...

THE_T_RAV

I'm new to the off-road/Adventure  motorcycle scene ( aside from riding dirt bikes as a kid and owning a KTM 890 Adventure that I rarely took off-road). However, I have a great deal of experience on-road with mid-size to full-size street motorcycles. I also have a lot of experience off-road with four wheelers big and small (even a 1987 Honda 250 three wheeler lol). 

I'm on the fence between the Tenere and the CRF300L. I plan to spend 70% of my time on-road but the other 30% will be everything from slow and technical off-road to easy ( firebreaks, hard pack, gravel).

The technical riding stuff is what is making it complicated for me. If I planned to ride mostly off-road the CRF300L would be a no brainer. If I planned to ride mostly street and occasional wide open and easy off-road the Tenere would be my obvious choice. I'm not looking for race bike power but the CRF is definitely anemic compared to the Tenere and what I'm used to. I've searched the forum and watched hours and hours of vidoes on both bikes but I'm still stuck. I thought I wanted the CRF and even put a deposit on one but now I'm interested in the Tenere after watching videos and reviews but I'm not completely convinced either way.

I'm looking for advice from experienced Tenere owners before I make a decision. Thanks!

70% street? tenere all day imo

T7 is for a fairly slow and sedate street bike, there's no way I'd go down to a crf300 unless you're fine with only just keeping up at like 7k rpms 

• Like 3

My son wants a dirt bike for trail riding  so I’m buying him a crf110 (he’s 11) so that’s another reason I considered the 300l, riding together. But I don’t see why I couldn’t follow him around on the Tenere. 

15 minutes ago, sunndog said:

70% street? tenere all day imo

T7 is for a fairly slow and sedate street bike, there's no way I'd go down to a crf300 unless you're fine with only just keeping up at like 7k rpms