Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Shifting Tenere Weight

Tundratom

I am a novice gravel rider, older and not particularly strong. Height is not a problem as I have a 32”!inseam. At slow stops, uneven ground etc, the bike tends to get away from me fairly often. I am thinking about transferring approx 12.25 lbs. (2 gal.) of fuel to the back of the bike by using a fuel bladder strapped to rear seat. Run the tank 2 gallons down and just shift the fuel to the forward tank as needed.  KISS approach.  There are more advanced methods but this is the most economical way. What say you off road denizens of the world? 

Personally doubt you’ll notice any difference at all but introduce more hassle to your bike/ride.

I don’t think there’s any getting around the fact the T7 is a heavy bike when used off road on uneven ground.

Although you’re not vertically challenged a lower seat might help, I’m 5’11” and have recently been thinking of buying the Yamaha low seat just to help in the tricky bits.

• Like 2

Agree that adding weight to the rear doesn't help. People with way more brains than me have pointed out that the T7 has an ideal weight distribution (front/rear) already.

The high COG is something you just need to get used to. Actually it stabilizes the bike quite well, but makes it hard to pick it up or catch it when it tilts beyond a given angle.

• Like 3

Tom,

I too have a 32" inseam, and the T7 is a TALL bike.

I don't believe moving two gallons of weight to the rear is gonna do diddly squat (American colloquialism at its finest).

Lowering the suspension a bit might help you achieve what you are looking for.

It is pretty cheap/simple to try it, and is easily reversible if you don't like it....

Bob

• Like 2

We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe

~Oliver Wendell Holmes~

Are you shifting your ass off the seat and weighting the side you need to?