Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

First longer ride today- gravel question

I've been riding on and off for 27 years. Mostly sporty street bikes or enduro bikes. This is my first ADV bike.  I'm 3 rides and 150 miles in on an even split of 2 lane paved and dirt roads.  I have some questions on what to expect in gravel.

Pavement- this bike is a beast.  Handles like a tall sport standard to me. Haven't got the tires to slip yet.  Super happy with cornering.

Packed dirt roads- I'm in 4th and 5th gear on packed dirt roads and the bike rides like it's on rails.  The bike only acted up going around uphill corners on the throttle where the road was washboard and the back end chattered a lot. Not sure what is up with that.

Dirt road had a few miles of loosely laid down very large gravel- the bike was like it was on ice. Not good. Standing up helped. I'm wondering if the STR tires are to blame, or I don't know how to ride in gravel.

I'm starting to suspect I may want a 50/50 tire in my near future.

IMG_3503.jpeg

Edited by zimm
  • Like 2

Washboarding has no great solution to my knowledge, it just sucks. Maybe decreasing your rear's rebound would help a bit, but personally I wouldn't optimize for washboarding since that's an oddity.

Loose gravel shouldn't feel like ice. The bike will feel a bit squirrely with a little bit of sliding that you can't/shouldn't control completely. The idea is to guide the bike along a general path, realize that you will be slipping a little bit, and not try to control those small movements. Gravel is a more tame version of sand, but it hurts more when you crash! And yeah, those tires are not great for sand/gravel.

Cool route if you're in VA:

https://www.adventurehorizons.com/shenandoah-trail.html

And make a weekend trip to Pine Barrens to have some fun on sand.

• Like 3

advgoats.com

To be able to ride fast and comfortable on gravel is a steep learning curve, almost worse than sand in my opinion.