Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

Garmin Zumo XT Wiring Questions - I'm at a LOSS!!!

nelsonccc

I've read through most of the threads here and over on ADV Rider and I'm still confused. I'm a total noob when it comes to electrical wiring. I have a new zumo xt and the moto pumps mount and the camel bobble head kit shows up today. 

In doing research on how to wire it I've come to realize that rather than run directly to the battery, like I was going to do, I should instead wire into 'switched' power. There are a number of threads here that talk about using he existing accessory plugs on the T7. Though I can't understand what the difference is between the 2 pin or 3 pin and the various amps loads they can accommodate.

Bottom line is if I buy these two items from Eastern beaver it seems I can plug and paly more or less. I can plug the  aux splitter into the 3 pin and then plug the power leads aux light connector into one of the split ends and then wire in the zumo to that. 

Am I missing anything? I'm loathe to wait a few more weeks for the eastern beaver stuff to show up but after hours of research this seems the easiest, straight forward approach. I welcome any feedbakc or advice on other ways to do it, especialyl if I can get it up and running sooner.

Also is there any recommendations on the best approach to wiring teh zumo to the aux cable? Positap?

Thanks!

tenere-aux-light-leads_1.jpg

s10-splitter.jpg

On the T7 there are multiple tap off ign feed points and you can choose any of them depending what your future intentions are. Ive tapped mine into the three pin which again is ign fed. There are two of these and 10 amps for Both and share the same fuse.

or

use the two pin square plugs. These are 2 amp and share the fuse , this is ideally the better one to use as leaves the larger amp cables for heated grips or fog lights.

but really 3 or 2 pin plugs ok

i can see in your pic its the correct cable you have